2012 Specialty Retail Hall of Fame Winners Announced at SPREE

The Specialty Retail Hall of Fame awards were presented at SPREE on April 3, at a special luncheon event sponsored by F. C. Dadson, a Greenville, WI-based RMU and kiosk manufacturer.

Marie VanDrisse from F. C. Dadson said the award winners were an example for all to follow. “They have provided accomplishments that we are all proud of,” VanDrisse said, while also thanking SPREE for the growth platform the show has provided.

Marc Winkelman, CEO and co-founder of Calendar Club, was honored by Patricia Norins, publisher of Specialty Retail Report, with a lifetime achievement award. She pointed to his generosity of spirit and sense of humor as strong points in his long and seasoned career. Norins also joked about Winkelman’s love of grammar. “I hear he has a secret passion for commas,” she said. In accepting the award, Winkelman acknowledged his love of language. “I am [indeed] a serial comma placer. Commas are important,” he laughed. Winkelman said he was deeply touched by the recognition and to share the title with Robert Norins, Patricia’s Norins’ late father, also an established icon in the industry. “Partnerships are an important part of this industry. This is very touching for me,” Winkelman said.

Denise Monahan with Jersey Gardens Mall, a Glimcher property in Elizabeth, NJ, was recognized as Specialty Leasing Manager of the Year. In a first for the awards, Monahan was nominated by one of her tenants. Monahan thanked Specialty Retail Report, Glimcher and her many tenants for the recognition.

Heidi Cardall from CBL was honored as the Specialty Leasing Director of the year—as someone who could handle everything with a smile. Cardall said she was humbled by the honor and it moved her to be recognized when so many of her talented peers were in attendance. “This means everything to me,” she said.

Tim Olfield from Gold Rush was honored as the Specialty Retailer of the Year. Rob Guthrie in picking up the award for Olfield, thanked Specialty Retail Report for the recognition.